Slovenia - Blejsko jezero

Slovenia

Slovenia is a European country between Alpes, Adriatic Sea and Pannonian Basin.

The Old Town CentresThe Old Town Centres

Source: Public information of Slovenia,
The Surveying and Mapping Authority of the Republic of Slovenia,
State map in measure 1 : 1.000.000, 1995
www.gu.gov.si

Recommended

Koper - Old Town Centre

The old city centre has many important buildings. Among them are Carpaccio square with Taverna, Saint Justina’s column and fountain, fountain Da Ponte, the Muda Gate, Praetorian Palace (Pretorijska palača), cathedral and the defence tower, square Brolo with the park, Fontico with the heraldic decoration, Palace Tarsia, Palace Almerigogna, Palace De Belli, the Rotunda of the Assumption. Carpaccio Square is embellished with the Carpaccio House, the Gothic building from the 15th century. It was the residence of the Venetian painter Benedetto Carpaccio, the son of the famous Vittore. They left the city the rich painting’s heritage. In the middle of the square is the Saint Justina’s column, which was built in the memory of the participation of the local people in the victorious battle against the Turks by the Lepan in the year 1571. The view to the sea is partially veiled with the Taverna, former Venetian salt storehouse, today the multi purposed entertainment place. The baroque decorated fountain Da Ponte is originated from the year 1666. For more centuries in this place the local people were supplied with drinkable water, which has by the wooden tubes, placed to the sea bottom, arrived from the sea hinterland. The Muda Gate, former town’s gate, were long centuries the only entrance to the city by land. They are in the renaissance style. In the left side of the gates are the remains of the former town’s walls with the small arched doors and in the right side is the church of the Saint Basso from the 16th century. The Praetorian Palace (Pretorijska palača), town's house in the times of the Venetian Republic, is the most precious architecture memorial of the city Koper. The facade of the Cathedral of the Assumption is built in the gothic and in the renaissance style, by them is raising the imposing town's tower, sometimes parted from the cathedral. In the middle of the square Brolo are standing the stony fountains from the end of the 15th century, where the local people were supplied with rainwater. The Fontico is the former granary, built in the year 1392.

Ljubljana - Preseren Square

The Preseren Square is one of the most beautiful markets in Ljubljana, which is especially popular by Ljubljana residents. It is known for its red Franciscan church of the Annunciation, the beautiful Plecnik Bridge - the Triple Bridge and the Preseren Monument. The market is lively, there are many bars and shops here. The market was first called the Animal Market, later it was named after the church Mary's Square, and then after the Slovenian poet France Preseren. It lies at the junction of the old medieval town with the new, which spread from the 19th century on the left bank of the Ljubljanica River. It is actually a crossroads, into which five streets converge, which then merge onto the bridge at the gateway to the old town. The space was interesting and important in the Middle Ages, because through it and then through the Spital City Gate, which stood at the beginning of the wooden bridge, the ancestor of the present Triple Bridge, flowed into the walled city most of the commercial traffic. Here in front of the city gates, a shop flourished in the 16th and 17th centuries. Merchants erected their stalls and huts in front of the gates and on the bridge until they were banished from there in the 19th century and built masonry storefronts in Copova Street, which have survived in part to this day. Ever since, there was also a church on the square, which was originally Augustinian, and in the 18th century the Franciscans moved there from Vodnikov Square. By the end of the 18th century, when Preseren Square was demolished, the city walls were markedly suburban. Like most of the markets outside Ljubljana, it was regulated only in the first half of the 19th century. At that time they also paved it, and it started to look more urban. In the years 1841-42, they built a new stone bridge instead of the old one and named it after the brother of Emperor Ferdinand the Francis Bridge. The year can still be seen today above the vault of the middle bridge. The Preseren Square changed the most after the earthquake of 1895. At that time, they demolished the old house, which stood on the site of the present Presern monument, and built new, stylishly designed buildings, in height adapted to the crown of the Franciscan church. During the two wars, the square was rebuilt again, at which time a new Mayer Palace was erected, the work of architect Stanko Rohrman, and two additional pedestrian bridges were built along the Franco Bridge - today's Tromostovje. Preseren Square is one of the most vibrant and attractive spots in Ljubljana.

Piran

Piran is an old port town in Slovenian Istra. The town is bilingual, Italian and Slovenian. The Italian name for the city is Pirano. It is situated at the cape of the Piran peninsula. Piran has kept its medieval appearance with narrow streets and closely built houses, which gives it a typical Mediterranean character and a special charm. On a hill above the houses, the church of Saint George is situated, with a high tower and an interior with many paintings and intricate artwork. Piran has been settled since before Roman times. In the years between 1909 and 1953, Piran was connected with Portorož and Lucija by an electric railway. Today, Piran is an administrative and tourist center which attracts both local and foreign visitors. Some of the most fascinating sites in Piran include the Tartini Square, the Town Palace, the Tartini Monument, the Tartini House, special stone columns for flags, the Court Palace, the May 1 Square, also known as the Old Square, and the old town wall composed of three walls from different time periods. In the city center is the Aquarium which was established in 1964. The Promenade extends along the coast and offers many restaurants with a wide variety of local foods and drinks. Church of Saint George offers an extraordinary view of the old town and the Gulf of Trieste. It was built in 1638 on the site of the Romanesque basilica and the Gothic three-nave church. A bell tower stands independently of the church. It was built in 1609 after the model of the bell tower of St. Mark in Venice. Tartini Square was originally a seafront for fishing boats. It was demolished in 1894. In the middle of the square stands a bronze monument to Giuseppe Tartini, a famous Piran countryman, composer, violinist and music educator. The Church of Our Lady of the Snows is located along Bolniska Street. It was built in 1404 and rebuilt in the baroque style in the 17th century. Opposite the church stands the church of Saint Franciscan monastery. The monastery cross corridor with a portal is a remarkable work from the 17th century. Narrow streets in Piran make it impossible to drive cars, so there are parking places in front of the city. Piran, Seča and Portorož are connected by a regular local bus route. A newer part of the town developed outside the walls along the coast towards Portorož.

Skofja Loka - Old Town Centre

Skofja Loka has the best preserved old city center in Slovenia. This center is bordered by rocky terraces that were shaped by the Sora Rivers. Since the Middle Ages, the old city has consisted of two squares: the city square or “Plac” and the lower square, the “Longtrg”. There are many interesting buildings, like the Nuns’ church, the rocky Capuchin bridge, Homan’s house, and the town school. Other interesting buildings include the former almshouse, Zigon’s house, Marija’s sign, the old Town Hall, the Parson’s house, and Martin’s house, which is the style of the last century. The Nuns’ Church, or Marija Brezmadezna church, was built in 1358, and rebuilt in the Baroque style after a fire in 1669. The Capuchin’s bridge was built upon the order of Bishop Leopol in the middle of the 14th Century, and was made from stone cut in semicircular form. It is one of the oldest monuments in Middle Europe. Homan’s house is a middle-class manor, which is made up of three buildings. The Parish or Sentjakobska church is a late Gothic hall built in 1471. Marija’s sign is a Baroque sign with three statues which the city built in 1751 in thanks for turning away plaque and fire.

Other

Brezice - Old Town Centre

Brežice is a town with interesting old centre. We can see the Castle Brezice, where is the museum, Castle granary, Music school Brezice, old pharmacy, the house of family Del Cott, Town Hall – Rotovz, Parish Church of St. Laurence in Brezice, Aqueduct tower and many other. The museum is open for tourist visits. Permanent collections are the ethnological collection, an archaeological collection, a rebellious collection, art and history collection, a collection of recent history and a memorial exhibition of painter and graphic artist Franje Stiplovsek, founder of the Museum Brezice. The Castle granary is one of the best preserved granaries in Slovenia. In the former castle stables is now the Music School Brezice. In the old pharmacy house is the well known restaurant Santa Lucija. The Church of St. Laurence was built in 1782. According to plans should extend to the edge of the road, but they ran out of money. Today is in the German house a courthouse. The Aqueduct tower is seen far away and is the most famous point of the city. It was built in 1914 and is 46 meters high. Today is in it a bar with three floors. We can see the original old instruments.

Celje - Old Town Centre

Celje is the third largest city in Slovenia. The remains of a material culture histrically bear witness to wealthy and stormy centuries. In Roman times Celje was named Claudia Celeia and it was a rather strong and wealthy town. When people migrated, Celje was ruined. In the Middle Ages it is mentioned again in the year 1125, but its its unpredictable success reached its zenith in the 14th and 15th century. At that time Celje was under the authority of the Celje Counts and it would become the head town of the extensive Central European-Balkan region. Celje received its town rights in the 1451 from Friderik II Celjski. Celje has been subject to disasters and enemies alike, such as the Turks, but it still developed into one of the most important towns of lower Štajerska with vibrant shops and trade. In 1846 railway tracks brought industrialization. Celje is now a modern city pulsing with culture and tourism, a developed social life, a market and trade centre and with beautiful surroundings. Important cultural buildings are the Celje Home, the People's Loan Bank, the Town Wall, the Water tower, Maria's Sign, the Town Hall, the Court, Saint Daniel’s Church, the National Home, the Old County and others.

Crnomelj - Old Town Centre

Crnomelj is the central and the biggest town in Bela krajina. It lies high under the confluence of the river Lahinja and at the affluent of the river Doblicica. Crnomelj was settled since the older Iron Age. The city has because of its geographical position, beside the main road, only two parallel streets. This has changed only a little with the years. Crnomelj is first mentioned in the year 1228 with the name Schirnomel. The city got town rights in the year 1407. Crnomelj was in the 15th century secured against Turks with the walls and they also dug out the moat. The important things to see in the old city centre are Castle Crnomelj, the Komenda (Commandery), Stonic Castle, Church of Saint Peter, Church of the Holy Spirit and others. In the year 1944 was established the first partisan gymnasium in Slovenia. Crnomelj Castle was first built in the year 1165. The bigger castle was built later and with some additional extension is preserved to these days. In the 13th century was also established the Komenda of the Knights Templars. The inner yard has renovated arcades. Here are also exhibited Roman tombstones. Stonic Castle lies opposite of the Castle Crnomelj. It is built of the three buildings, which were in the year 1768 united in one. Castle was announced for the cultural statue in the year 2003. The Church of Saint Peter originate from the year 1228. The baroque hall is from the first half of the 18th century. The Gothic church of the Holy Spirit is first mentioned in the year 1487. It was renovated in the end of the 19 th century, together with the walls for protection. Črnomelj is the traffic centre of the Bela krajina, because of its central position. At the same time is also the cultural place, famous of the traditional »jurjevanje«, a three-day festival in mid-June of music, dance and bonfires. It is one of the most important celebrations of folklore in Slovenia.

Idrija - Old Town Centre

In the old town centre we can see the St. Ahacij Square with the baroque fountain, where was discovered rich mercury ore, mining theatre and mining magazine, Town Hall and Lace School Idrija in the Town Square, Franciska's Shaft, Church of the Holy Trinity, first Secondary School, Scopoli's House, who was the first Idrija's medicine doctor, Miner's House, chapel, public aquarium and much more. Old town centre Idrija has beside the oldest St. Ahacij Square, newest Town Square, also the Scopoli Square and Aumeski Square, which is named by the French cist Aumetz, which is twinned with Idrija. Lace School Idrija is responsible for preserving the knowledge of many elements and techniques of lace making. Idrija is also known for its local food speciality called idrijski zlikrofi, which is prepared from dough and stuffed with special potato stuffing and hand made. Idrija's mining band is one with the longest tradition in Slovenia. Above the old town centre proudly raises the Castle Gewerkenegg, which was built in the 16th century and was for centuries the seat of the mining administration and place for storage of mercury. Here was a center of trade of mercury in Idrija. Today is the castle seat of the Municipal Museum Idrija with its permanent exhibition named Five centuries of the mercury mine and the town of Idrija. On a hill above Idrija is the Church of St. Anthony with Calvary and from here is a beautiful view to the newest part of the town and surroundings.

Izola - Old Town Centre

Izola is a littoral town, which has interesting old city centre. It includes Manziolijev trg with neighbourhood, Soncno nabrezje, Trg padlih za svobodo with neighbourhood, Trg republike with neighbourhood, Trg svetega Mavra with neighbourhood, Veliki trg with neighbourhood, Ulica Alme Vivoda with neighbourhood and other. Izola hides many wonderful things. You can see the Italian elementary school Dante Alighieri, Parenzana museum, the Church of St. Mary of Haliaetum, port (madrac), archades from the year 1531, which were in complex with Fontika and Loza, Municipal palace (City Hall), fountain in park on Veliki trg, the Church of St. Maurus, entrance in the Besenghi degli Ughi palace, the Chapel of the Brotherhood of Flagellants, Scuola Batutti, the pavilion and fountain in Pietro Coppo Park and others. The Museum Parenzana shows the history of the narrow gauge railway Parenzana. The railway connected at the beginning of the earlier century places from Trieste to Porec that included Izola as a key station stop. The Church of St. Mary of Haliaetum is from the second half of the 11th century and it is the oldest city church. Inside you can see wooden choir, three altars and organ of the master Nakic. The Municipal Palace was made in Gothic style. Today has the baroque front from the 17th century. The Chapel of the Brotherhood of Flagellants, Scuola Battuti was built in the year 1451 and it is one of the oldest in Izola. It has preserved the external Gothic style.

Kamnik - Old Town Centre

Kamnik has an interesting old town centre. The central part of the old town centre is the Mali grad (Small Castle) around which are situated the following squares and streets: Glavni trg, Samostanska ulica, Sutna, Sadnikarjeva ulica, Trg svobode, Prešernova ulica, Maistrova ulica, Franciskanski trg etc. On the Glavni trg are situated the Gallery of Miha Males, Tourist information centre, the Coffeehouse Veronika, where are taking place cultural and entertainment events, the stony fountain, which is the work of the sculptor Leon Homar etc. At the end of the Glavni trg is the statue of general Rudolf Maister on the northern side. In Samostanska ulica and Franciskanski trg stepping out the most the Franciscan Monastery with the library and the Church of Saint Jacob. Their beginnings are from the end of the 15th century. Sutna is surrounded with series of houses from the both side of the street, which has been unchanged since the second half of the 19th century. This part of the town is closed for traffic and belongs to the protective part of the town centre. Sometimes Sutna was the suburb part of the medieval Kamnik. Here we can see the birth house of general Rudolf Maister.

Kranjska Gora - Old Town Centre

Despite its tourist development, Kranjska Gora has preserved the old layout of the village. Most of the old houses, farm buildings of the Carinthian type, were also modernized. In the old town center you can see the Church of the Assumption of Virgin Mary, the Liznjek House, the birthplace of Joseph Vandot and others. In the area of today's church there used to be another church called Mary on the White Pebble. Only the Romanesque bell tower, built of sand squares, was preserved from it. The Church of the Assumption of Virgin Mary was built in 1510 in the late Gothic style. The contractor was Jernej Firtaler from Villach. Carinthian influence is seen in the nave, which is decorated with a decorative interlacing of ribs and elephants on the inner supports. Two Gothic plastics date from the second half of the 15th century. The Liznjek house is over 300 years old. It was a rich farm, and for some time also an inn. The wooden house was built in the second half of the 17th century and the masonry chamber next to it was built in the 18th century. The house today houses an ethnographic museum collection and a permanent exhibition on the life of a young writer and official, Josip Vandot, author of popular Kekec stories. At his birthplace, Podbreg 27, there is a memorial plaque.

Maribor - Old Town Centre

Maribor is the centre of Stajerska Region and the second largest Slovenian town. It has varied historical past. As the city was first mentioned in the year 1254. Already one year later the local people began to built two kilometres long town walls, which limited the old city kernel. The walls were additional strengthen with defensive towers, which are Judgement (Port) Tower, Celigij Tower and Water Tower. Old town centre hides many interesting buildings and places like Lent, Old Wine, the Bay of Koblar, Maribor Island, Koroska Bridge, the Church of Saint Joseph and the fountain, the Old bridge, the Castle square with the castle and museum, the Main square with Plague monument and Town Hall, the Slomsek Cathedral, Jewish synagogue and many others. Lent is the oldest part of the city by the river Drava. On the façade of the Old Vine House is the oldest vine in the world. To the Maribor Island you can go by walking path by river Drava. In the summer time are here public baths. The church of Joseph’s was once the Romance church with the largest meetings, when the small dealers sold ladles and other goods. The beginning of the city is tighty connected with the crossing of the river Drava. The present Old bridge, built between years 1906 and 1912, was one of the most beautiful bridges in Austria-Hungary. The Maribor castle is situated in the heart of the city and is surrounded with the vivid Castle square, the Freedom square and the Square of General Maister. The castle is the most beautiful and the biggest building in the city. Today is the museum of Maribor. The central room is the festival or chivalrous hall. The main square is the biggest square in Maribor. In the centre is the Plague monument. It was erected in the 17th century to thanks for the end of plague. Town hall is from the year 1515. Today is here the restaurant called Toti rotovz, the smaller exhibition room and the Puppet theatre. The Cathedral church is situated in the middle of the Slomsek Square. It was built in the first half of the 12th century as the three nave basilica in the Romanic style. It became the cathedral in the year 1859. In past hundred years was two times renovated. Today shows the Gothic form with long choir from the 14th century and central nave from the 15th century. You can go at the 57 metres high tower only by beforehand agreement. The Jewish synagogue is one of the best preserved synagogues in Europe. It can be found in the Jewish square in former Jewish quarter, which is located near the main square. First time was mentioned in the year 1427, but probably was built before. By the synagogue in past times were also the rabbi house, Talmud's school, the churchyard and by the river Drava the ritual churchyard. Today is the cultural and concert centre.

Most na Soci - Old Town Centre

The village Most na Soci is situated in the Municipality Tolmin. It lies in the confluence of the Idrijca and Soca river. Till the year 1952 the place was called Saint Lucia. The place Most na Soca is very well – known by the wonderful artificial lake for the hydroelectric station Doblar. The lake just invites you to go for a walk and to enjoy in the beautiful surroundings. You can also drive with the tourist boat called Lucia. In the old town centre you can stay overnight in the Hotel Lucija. The inn Vuga offers you lots of delicious goodness. The place Most na Soci was settled already in the Bronze Age, but the greatest prosperity had reached in the Iron Age. In the Roman Empire the place had important political and cultural role. In the old town centre you can see the Archeological museum Most na Soci, the parish church of Saint Lucia, the remains of the house from the Iron Age, Roman house, Roman graveyard, the church of Saint Maver and other. On the houses they put up the memorial tables and you can also see the bust of the national hero Dusan Munih – Darko. The Archeological museum is located in the elementary school. It represents the part of the old Iron Aged settlement. In the museum you can see the foundation of the old Iron Aged house from the 5th century before Christ.

Mozirje

P_mozirje;P_mozirje_2

Polhov Gradec - Old Village Centre

Polhov Gradec has an interesting old village centre. We can see cultural remarkableness as are Ostetar house, Curacy, street Usrana gasa, house Pri peku, Sever house, inn Gostilna pri Pratkarju, the Culture home of Jakob Trobec, monument for the National Liberation War, church of the Birth of Mary and other. The old village centre is mostly serried round the Church of the Birth of Mary, which was built in years from 1728 to 1736 in the baroque style. It got the present image in the 19th century, when it was increased together with the belfry. Inside is the most interesting golden baroque altar, which was made by the local carver family Facija from the forties in the 18th century. Their workshop was famous because of the excellent quality of work. The village houses were mostly made in the 19th century. They have decorated portals with vegetable and geometric motives. Ostetar house was made in the 16th century. It preserved the late Gothic and baroque windows. It is still original wooden roof inside, stony staircase and stonecutting shaped portals. The Curacy is from the year 1803 and it is the oblongness building. In the street, which is called Usrana gasa, houses got their names by occupations of tradesmen. The house Pri peku (At baker) is from the year 1838 and has the ornament stony portal. The upper part of the house has a typical numerous window openings. The Sever house shows the village life in the 19th century and we can also see the preserved black kitchen. Pristava is the region on the left bank of the Bozna River. Most important house there is inn Gostilna pri Pratkarju, which has the wooden corridor with small column fense.

Ptuj - Old Town Centre

Ptuj has a beautiful and interesting old town centre. Above the city is proudly raising a Ptuj Castle in which is today a museum. In the old town centre we can see the Minorite Square, Slovenian Square, City Square, Drava Street and other. In Slovenian Square is the St. George Church, Orpheu' s Monument and other. In this part is also the Hotel Mitra, which is famous by thematic furnished rooms in five styles. On the Minorite Square is situated the Minorite Monastery, which was established by Lords of Ptuj. In the City Square we can see the City Hall, monument dedicated to St. Florjan and many other. The present building is from the year 1906-7, which can be seen on portal. Drava Street goes parallel with the River Drava and offers beautiful views to the river and surroundings. In this part is Drava Tower, which was built in the year 1551. Primary it did not have a roof, but it was a cannon platform on the top. In the nearness is the famous Inn Ribic with the annual garden, where is also the stopping place for a drive with the boat by the river. On the western side of the old town centre is situated the Dominican monastery with the Sunny park before it. The city stands on old wine cellars, which witnesses about long wine tradition. In the Ptuj Wine Cellar they have the oldest wine in Slovenia, vintage 1917. We can also the the interesting cellar and taste their wines. The medieval city centre is protected.

Smartno

Smartno is one of the most beautiful villages in the centre of Goriska brda. It was built on the remains of the Roman stronghold. In written sources was first mentioned in 1317. The walls with towers were built for defence against Turkish invasions in the first half of the 16th century. Sometimes had had possessions here the Counts of Gorizia, but after death of last one the Goricko Region inherited the Habsburg emperor Maximilian. Smartno is included in the connection of antiturkish camps and villages in Brdo and Primorska Region. As a frontier fortress was a village until the middle of the 18th century, when the Venetian danger had passed. Old medieval houses are grouped around the Church of Saint Martin, which is the largest parish church in Brda. In the church we can see the frescoes of Tone Kralj. The church tower was sometimes the fortress tower. Among the narrow streets is situated the Briska House in which is a smaller museum. The house has a Gothic stone portal. It was renovated during the rustic Baroque. The living place is divided into a better room, kitchen and an attic. The equipment of the house combines elements of the folk architecture and typical house in Goriska Brda. In the village they have a gallery for exhibitions and an event hall. The village Smartno is a cultural monument because of its exceptional architecture heritage.

Trzic - Old Town Centre

Tržič is the city, which is situated in the confluence of Bistrica and Mošenik. In the year 1492 has emperor Friderik III. raised Tržič from village to square. From the year 1985 the city is secured like cultural monument. In the year 1811 was destroyed in the fire more than 200 houses and workshops. From then have under renovation gave an order that has determined special regulation for obligatory placing of metal door and shutters, which have become genuine European particularity. All buildings also have following common characteristics: portals ornamented with rosettes with the year of making and initials of householder and God's eye in which is house number, window frames from green 'perac' stone, forged window mesh, curious window, drying opening in the roof for drying up skin, linen, flax and socks, metal fences, roadside stones 'opestniki' and medieval ground plan with workshop, storehouse and transitional hall in the ground floor. The most remarkable buildings are parish church of Lady Day, Mally house, museum in Zgornja Kajža, Kurnik house, church of the holy Jožef, castle Neuhaus, Dev house, Holzapf house and ironworks Germovka.

Vipavski Kriz

The Vipavski Kriz is a picturesque village situated on a hill in the middle of the Vipava Valley. The Kriz is one of the most valuable and important monuments of cultural heritage, which is also under monumental protection. The original prehistoric settlement was first mentioned in written sources in 1252, and the place flourished after 1532, when it got city rights. It was encircled by the walls of the Counts of Gorizia in 1482. The area of the village can be divided into three parts, which are Plac, Gase and the Grad. The Gase is the oldest part of the village and has narrow streets with one and two storey houses. At the end of the 15th century, a Renaissance castle with four circular towers was built by the Count of Gorizia. Today, it is only partially preserved. Parish Church of Holy Cross is late Gothic one-story building that was baroqued in the 17th century. It houses two early gold altars and a chapel of the Holy Cross from 1682, which has a rich stucco. Below the church is a memorial plaque on which it says that at this place had a speech to the crowd Primož Trubar in 1563. The plate was discovered in 1986. The well-known Slovenian preacher Janez Svetokriski (1647-1714) was in the Capuchin's monastery, founded in 1636. In front of the monastery we can see his statue. In the monastery church of Saint Francis of Assisi is one of the largest canvases of the 17th century in the country, which is the work of Brother Oswald.

Vrhnika

Vrhnika is a town, which is a centre of Municipality of Vrhnika. It is located by the old road from Ljubljana to Postojna. It lies on the slopes of Pokojnik plateau and on the western side of Ljubljansko swamp. The beginning and development of the city is connected with ships and traffic on the Ljubljanica River, which springs here on several places. Vrhnika is also situated on area, where is the shortest passage from Ljubljana basin over the karst and Inner Carniola forest plateau to the sea. The place of today's Vrhnika was already settled before the arrival of Romans. In written sources is first mentioned in 1300 and at that time was named Upper Ljubljana. In the city we can see the following major attractions: the monument of greatest Slovenian dramatist, poet and writer Ivan Cankar (1876-1918), the birthplace of Ivan Cankar, Lavrencic House – the Old Post Office, a former Hotel by Black eagle, the Church of Saint Lenart, the Church of the Holy Trinity, the Church of St. Paul on the Hill and other. The birthplace of Ivan Cankar is separated into a black kitchen, living room and chamber. It was proclaimed for a cultural monument. Lavrencic House belongs between the most important and oldest buildings in Vrhnika. It is located on the bank of the Ljubljanica River, where was sometimes a passanger port. A Hotel By Black eagle was built in 1850. By the Church of St. Lenart are buried Ivan Cankar's parents. The Baroque style church got in the 18th Century. It was built around 1640. The Church of Saint Paul is located on the place of the former Roman camp and was built in 1851.


Natural Sights/Attractions

Natural baths, beaches

Beaches

Caves

Caves

Gorges, canyons, river beds (troughs)

Gorges

Karavanken Mountains

Karavanken

Lakes, ponds

Lakes

Triglav National Park

NP Triglav

Parks, arboretums, gardens

Parks

Rivers and confluences

Rivers

Sources, springs

Sources

Waterfalls

Waterfalls

Cultural-Historical Sights/Attractions

Basilicas, churches, chapels

Basilicas

Castles, manors, towers, forts, fortifications

Castles

World War I Military Cemeteries

Cemeteries

The biggest cities in Slovenia

Cities

Monasteries, abbeys

Monasteries

Monuments, statues, signs

Monuments

Museums, galleries, exhibitions

Museums

The Old Town Centres

Old Towns

Town Halls

Town Halls

Other

Camps

Camps

Places for wedding

Places for Wedding

Marinas, ports

Ports

Ski slopes

Ski Slopes

Health resorts, spas, wellness

Spas

Toboggan runs

Toboggan Runs